033 - 4057 - 2700


Institute of Technology Sligo (IT Sligo), is a state funded third-level educational institution situated on a 70 acre parkland location in the town of Sligo, Ireland. The Institute was founded in 1970 as a Regional Technical College and adopted its present name on May 7, 1997. The President is Professor Terri Scott, who took up her post in 2008.

IT Sligo has three schools: Business and Social Sciences; Engineering and Design; and Science, and offers a wide range of programmes leading to qualifications within the National Framework of Qualifications (NFQ).

Its courses are relevant to the modern employment marketplace and IT Sligo provides a broad range of programmes from undergraduate to postgraduate level along with a number of apprenticeship programmes.

Qualifications are awarded by IT Sligo and the Higher Education and Training Award Council (HETAC).

For its partners in industry, IT Sligo delivers a broad spectrum of tailored programmes approved by external bodies such as Engineers Ireland, Coca-Cola, Irish Prison Service, the CISCO Academy and the Irish Medicines Board.

The most recent developments include a new Student Centre and state of the art Library/Learning Resource Centre that provides students with a dynamic focus for learning and study.

Sports Facilities include the Knocknarea Arena, a 1,500m2 multipurpose sports arena equipped for a range of indoor sports including football and basketball. The Institute also has an international standard outdoor athletics track; floodlit soccer and Gaelic pitches and leisure and gym facilities available to all staff, students and conference visitors on campus.

IT Sligo is an accredited member of the European Credit Transfer Scheme for Higher Education Awards and it received the Extended European Erasmus University Charter in 2007.