033 - 4057 - 2700


The Galway-Mayo Institute of Technology (GMIT), formerly known as Galway Regional Technical College was set up in 1972. The Institute is one of the largest in the country and is located on the western seaboard in the historic city of Galway. Spread across five campuses - two in Galway city (Galway Campus and Centre for Creative Arts & Media), two in County Galway (Letterfrack and Mountbellew) and one in County Mayo (Mayo Campus) - the Institute offers ordinary, honours and masters degree programmes in the disciplinary areas of business, engineering, science, hotel and catering, humanities and nursing. Graduates from the Galway-Mayo Institute of Technology enjoy a national and international reputation for excellence, incorporating both a theoretical and applied orientation in their specialities.
GMIT’s mission is to “develop life-long learning opportunities through our teaching and research, by supporting regional development consistent with national higher education policy."
The Institute is involved in a range of research activities involving high-level collaborations with other higher education centres, as well as industry.